Committee of the Regions

The Committee of the Regions was established in 1994 in the European Union Agreement and it is an advisory body comprising representatives of European regional and local authorities. The Committee of the Regions must be consulted before an EU decision is made with regard to local and regional administration such as regional policies, the environment, education and transport.

The Committee has 350 members. The number of representatives from each member state approximately reflects the number of inhabitants in the state and it is as follows:

France, Italy, Germany, United Kingdom: 24
Poland and Spain: 21
Romania: 15
Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Hungary, Netherlands, Portugal, Austria, Greece and Sweden: 12
Denmark, Finland, Ireland, Croatia, Lithuania and Slovenia: 9
Latvia and Slovenia: 7
Estonia: 6
Cyprus, Luxemburg and Malta: 5

Cooperation Czech National Delegation and the Slovak National Delegation

On 7th December, Prague House hosted a meeting of Czech and Slovak National Delegations at the Committee of Regions and had pleasure to welcome Mayor of Prague Adriana Krnáčová. The Czech and Slovak National Delegations discussed and approved the common position on priorities for the Cohesion policy after 2020.

The members of the Committee are elected politicians working in local or regional institutions. They are often the representatives of regional administrations.

They are nominated by EU governments but they are politically independent. The EU Committee appoints them to their posts for four years and they can be re-appointed. They also must have a mandate from the bodies they represent or they must be politically accountable to these bodies.

The Committee of the Regions appoints its President for two and a half years. In February 2015 Markku Markkula from Finland was elected the CoR’s President for the upcoming period.

What are the roles of this Committee?

The Committee of the Regions aims to promote the opinions of local and regional authorities with regard to EU legislation. The Committee presents its opinions on the proposals made by the Commission.

The Commission and the Council must consult the Committee of the Regions on issues that directly affect local and regional authorities, but the Committee may be consulted at any time. The Committee may take a view on its own initiative and present it to the Commission, Council and the Parliament.
European Committee of the Regions – About the CoR

How is the work of the Committee organised?

The Committee of the Regions organises six plenary sessions each year to adopt opinions, drafts, define the program of the Committee, or to elect bureau members.

The members of the Committee are divided into specialised ‘commissions’ whose task it is to prepare plenary sessions. There are six commissions in total:

  • Commission for Territorial Cohesion Policy (COTER)
  • Commission for Economic and Social Policy (ECON)
  • Commission for Commission for the Environment, Climate Change and Energy (ENVE)
  • Commission for Social Policy, Education, Employment, Research and Culture (SEDEC)
  • Commission for Citizenship, Governance, Institutional and External Affairst (CIVEX)
  • Commission for Natural Resources (NAT)

The members of the Committee of the Regions have formed groups which reflect their political affiliations:

European People’s Party (EPP)

Party of European Socialists (PES)

Group of the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (ALDE)

European Alliance Group (EA)

European Conservatives and Reformists Group (ECR)


Since 2004 the City of Prague coordinates the work of Czech National Delegation.